KNOWLEDGE

THE VINEYARDS

Edouard Guerin, Technical Director at Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes, is committed to cultivating the vines with the upmost respect for nature and the environment. The vines used to produce the wines of Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes are carefully preserved thanks to gentle and most importantly natural cultivation practices.

Since 2008 the vines at Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes have been cultivated using organic methods. 80 to 90% of the quality of the finished wine is determined by the vineyards. In order for the vine to remain in well nourished, in good health and well exposed, this precious terroir is cultivated using the most respectful cultivation practices possible. Although man cannot influence the deeper structure of the soil, what he can do is intervene in almost all other parameters in order to ensure the highest quality possible in the finished wines.

THE SOILS

The soils are of the upmost importance as this is where the vine delves deep in order to nourish itself with water and minerals.

Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes made the decision 4 years ago to definitively cease the use of organic fertilizers permitted in organic agriculture with the aim of using its own 100% natural fertilizers instead. In order to do so, a partnership was formed with a neighboring farmer for the supply of sheep, horse and cow manure. On average 7 to 10 tons of manure compost are provided every 3 years. This well balanced and complete fertilizer contains all of the necessary components for the growth of the vine as well as all the trace elements it requires. Furthermore, this compost is rich in micro-organisms which ensure the strong microbial life (fungus and bacteria) needed for the proper functioning of the soils. It imparts a unique texture to the soils and encourages the development of clay-humus complexes. Well nourished and living soils result in well nourished grapes which in turn give rise to living, breathing wines.

THE VINE

The vine is at the very core of our craft as this is what determines the quality of the fruit

As part of the continuous quest for excellence at Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes, a massal selection approach is used in the vineyards. The vines are produced from vieille vigne stocks selected for their intrinsic quality and high genetic variability. The heterogeneity of these parcels imparts complexity and depth to the finished wines. The plants are grafted by hand using the English cleft grafting method. This technique ensures better sap flow in the plant compared to classic omega grafting methods. And in order to guarantee an in-depth savoir-faire, the pruners receive training on how to preserve desiccation cones, prevent pruning wounds and respect the sap flow in the plant.

VINEYARD MANAGEMENT

Vineyard managment is the moment when man and nature come together in perfect symbiosis

In order to achieve perfect balance in the vine, several different methods are used. In 2020 trials were carried out to test the effectiveness of plaiting the vine shoots rather than topping them (cutting the shoots that are too long). Pruning is adapted to suit the needs of each vine stock. The idea is to not harm the vine but rather to allow it to grow and live naturally. Furthermore, alternative methods have been implemented in order to protect the soils from weeds. Combinations of several different plant, grass, leguminous and crucifer species are sown between the vine rows. They have a unique root system which explores and loosens the soil to a certain depth. The leguminous species also have the ability to absorb atmospheric nitrogen and store it in the soil in the form of green manuring. There are two reasons behind the decision to carry out grassing. The first is to replace tillage so as to not mix the soil horizons (different layers of the soil) and the second is to bring as much life as possible to the soil and the surface of the soil. The vines are very often surrounded by hedges. These important green corridors and are composed of trees, ivy, bushes, wild asparagus and various other plant species. The hedges provide valuable shelter for macro-fauna (birds, bats) and insects.

As part of this same agro-ecological approach, this global and autonomous system, we opt to leave natural grass in certain sectors. This layer of vegetation helps to prevent erosion and acts as a food source for numerous species. Then in late February to early March, a shepherd brings his sheeps into the vines. In addition to the remarkable work they do in just a few hours, they also leave quite a few souvenirs behind them in the parcels. A bit smelly admittedly but a very rich fertilizer! Here again it is the natural cycle that is bringing life to the soils.

‘What we need in order to produce living, breathing wines is living, breathing soils and a carefully nurtured and well nourished vine that has not suffered any kind of trauma.’ Edouard Guerin

‘What we need in order to produce living, breathing wines is living, breathing soils and a carefully nurtured and well nourished vine that has not suffered any kind of trauma.’ Edouard Guerin

THE CELLARS

A PLACE UNLIKE ANY OHTER

The Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes vinification cellars are carved into rock that was formed 15 million years ago.

VINIFICATION CELLAR OF CLOS DE L'ORATOIRE DES PAPES WHITE

For those wanting to discover our vinification cellars for the cuvée Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes white, step into the Priory and wind your way down the stairs before first passing through the vinification cellars for the cuvée Les Chorégies. You will then find yourself in front of a cast iron gate and must follow the very same path as the monks did, through a tunnel carved into the 18th century sandy rock. As you near the end of this secret passageway the cellars come into view housing eight tulip shaped black concrete vats which are used solely to vinify what is one of the appellation’s most renowned white wines.

A wine with a strong personality revealing exceptional freshness and a pleasant bitterness imparted by the limestone soils of Châteauneuf-du-Pape.

The harvests are carried out early and exclusively by hand in order to retain the wine’s natural acidity and freshness.

Once the grapes arrive in the cellar they are pressed delicately as whole clusters. This gentle ‘champagne style’ pressing technique lasts for 7 to 8 hours rather than the average 2 hours. The process involves pressing and de-compacting the grapes then pressing them again with the aim of extracting the purest juices possible.

Vinification takes place 80% in eight tulip-shaped concrete vats and 20% in 300L new oak barrels. The egg-like form of these tulip vats creates a gravitational movement (known as ‘the vortex phenomenon’) which helps to keep the lees suspended naturally, without stirring, thereby developing the wine’s aromatic potential.

The Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes white is aged in cellars carved 6 meters deep into the rock. They ensure optimum and perfectly stable temperatures and humidity levels throughout the year. 80% of the wine is aged in concrete vats and 20% in French oak barrels. The wines are aged on their full lees with stirring carried out solely for the barrel aged wines. The final blend is composed in springtime, somewhere between March and early May depending on the vintage.

VINIFICATION CELLAR OF CLOS DE L'ORATOIRE DES PAPES RED

The Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes red are vinified in our cellar situated within the Priory building and is composed of 11 truncated vats made of French oak with a capacity of 75 and 100hl.

 

The quintessence of the appellation’s 4 terroirs in a Grenache based blend.

This wine is made from grapes grown in rolled pebbles soils, red clays, limestone fragments and sandy soils and is vinified with the utmost respect for winemaking traditions.

The use of co-fermentation during the vinification process is a further example of our savoir-faire in combining several different terroirs in the same vat. The objective of blending together varietals grown in different soil types in order to reveal the impact of these terroirs which are so unique in Châteauneuf-du-pape. For example the Syrahs planted in clay soils balance out the limestone soil Syrahs. The combination of rolled pebbles and sandy soils is really what makes this cuvée so iconic. Rolled pebbles are the signature of Châteauneuf-du-Pape and are known for the intense, vinous character and notes of stewed fruits that they impart to the wine. The sandy soils, on the other hand, are generally regarded as producing a more delicate style of wine with silky tannins, black fruits and exceptional finesse.

Thanks to this process of co-fermenting different varietals and different soil types, the tasting experience promises a well crafted alchemy between purity of fruit, silky tannins and depth of character. Cap punching carried out during vinification gives rise to a rich texture and silky mouthfeel.

The first twelve months of ageing takes place in oak tuns followed by pre-blending in concrete vats for 6 to 9 months. The wines therefore spend two winters being aged in order to give them their natural stability, smooth texture and delicate mouthfeel. They are bottled in springtime when temperatures are in the region of 15°C.

The Clos de l’Oratoire red can be enjoyed in its youth or kept in the cellar for at least a further 8 to 10 years and as long as 15 years for the finest vintages.

VINIFICATION CELLAR OF LES CHORÉGIES

The semi-underground vinification cellar for our parcel selection cuvée ‘Les Chorégies’, is carved into the sandy rock itself and comprise 8 tuns with a capacity of 18.7 hl each. They are truly unique and Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes is the only one in the appellation to possess such a receptacle.

The harvests are carried out by hand and the clusters are sorted with precision. The Grenache is conserved as whole clusters and gently crushed. The Syrah is partially de-stemmed and extracted delicately by daily pumping overs.

Les Chorégies sont vinifiées exclusivement en foudre de 18,7hl. Cette plus grande surface d’échange entre la pellicule et le jus permet d’apporter de la structure et une belle complexité.

‘Our 18.7hl tuns enable us to maximize the surface area for exchange between the skins and the juices thereby imparting greater structure and complexity to the wine.’ Edouard Guerin

As a result of the maceration that takes place in these tuns, the solid matter (skins, pips, stalks) remains submerged in the wine. The shape of these tuns prevents the marc cap from being in contact with oxygen and instead it remains permanently submerged resulting in a slow and delicate infusion.

This is followed by alcoholic fermentation which lasts between 8 to 10 days at temperatures of around 28°C to 30°C. The vatting period can last for as long as 7 weeks which allows us to create wines with such soft, delicate tannins and excellent length, tension and balance.

Pressing is carried out using a small vertical press with pneumatic piston which ensures high quality and pure press wines which are most often blended with the free run wine afterwards.

The wines are aged for 12 months in French oak tuns and then 8 months in concrete vats before being left to rest in the bottle for at least 18 months.

With the precision and skill of a choirmaster, Edouard Guerin is in full control throughout every stage of vinification and ageing in order to ensure unrivaled finesse and complexity in the finished wine.

‘I am fortunate to be able to work together with our teams, in both the vineyards and cellars, to go above and beyond with each new year and create wines that are deeper, more living and breathing than ever before.’

TECHNICAL DIRECTOR

EDOUARD GUERIN

Edouard grew up with his family in the Drôme Provençale region and enjoyed a childhood that was swayed by the seasons, picking apricots in summer and almonds in autumn time.

It was always very frustrating for him when he had to get back to school just as the harvests were getting started. His father and grandfather has already succeeded in instilling in him their passion for wine and the vine at this early age.

Edouard did not enjoy school although he was certainly intelligent enough to know what he wanted to do with his life. He enrolled in Agronomy studies at the Lycée du Parc in Lyon which paved the way for him attending the ENSAIA college in Nancy where he qualified with a degree in agronomy engineering. He was a very bright student, capable of working towards several different goals at the same time, and somehow managed to graduate with a diploma in Viticulture and Oenology from the Montpellier Agronomy School in the very same year. He completed his National Diploma in Oenology in 2005.

Edouard is curious, ambitious and has always been interested to know what is being done ‘elsewhere’.

In 2007 he moved with his family to Cappadocia in Turkey where he spent five years working as technical director for Maison Turasan, a grape producer and merchant. The indigenous varietals and unique terroirs of this region enabled him to discover the true extent of his talents.

His thirst for knowledge and technical expertise led him to Australia where he worked as general manager and then technical director for Maison Chapoutier Australia up until 2013.

He missed France’s terroirs and so the opportunity to join Maison Cazes in Roussillon was one that he couldn’t turn down. He therefore began working as technical manager at Clos de Paulilles upon his return to France.

When he joined Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes in Châteauneuf-du-Pape in 2015 it was as if he had found his calling, as if he was finally coming home. The Maison had plenty of interesting projects in the pipeline and great ambitions for the future which suited him down to the ground. The unique terroirs of the Rhône Valley were like an exciting playground for Edouard in his role as Technical Director.

Edouard is now able to give free rein to his passion and savoir-faire in the vineyards and cellars. His artistic talents are palpable when tasting of each and every one of the wines from Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes.
‘I am fortunate to be able to work together with our teams, in both the vineyards and cellars, to go above and beyond with each new year and create wines that are deeper, more living and breathing than ever before.’

Invite & Earn

X
Signup to start sharing your link
Signup

Available Coupon

X
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

SAVOIR-FAIRE

LA TERRE

Directeur technique du Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes, Edouard Guerin a à cœur de travailler la vigne tout en respectant l’environnement qui l’entoure. Cet écrin, accueillant les vignes destinées à produire les vins du Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes, est entièrement préservé grâce à des techniques de travail de la terre et de la vigne bien spécifiques et surtout, naturelles.

Depuis 2008, au Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes, les vignes sont travaillées en suivant les principes de l’agriculture biologique. Pour que les vignes restent saines, bien alimentées et idéalement exposées, ce terroir si précieux est travaillé dans le plus grand respect. Si l’homme ne peut pas jouer sur la structure profonde du sol, il peut cependant intervenir sur presque tous les autres paramètres pour produire un vin d’une grande qualité.

LA TERRE

La terre, l’élément essentiel, là où la vigne développe ses racines en profondeur, là où elle puise eau et minéraux.

Depuis 4 ans, le Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes a décidé de stopper définitivement l’utilisation d’engrais organiques utilisables en Bio, dans le but d’utiliser son propre engrais 100% naturel. Pour cela, un partenariat avec un éleveur du village voisin a été mis en place pour récupérer du fumier de mouton, de cheval et de vache. En moyenne, entre 7 et 10 tonnes de fumiers compostés sont prévus tous les 3 ans. Cet engrais très complet contient non seulement tous les éléments nécessaires à la croissance des vignes, mais comporte également tous les oligo-éléments. De plus, ce compost, ultra riche en micro-organisme apporte beaucoup de vie (champignons et bactéries), essentielle au bon fonctionnement des sols. Il permet d’apporter une texture particulière et de créer des complexes argilo-humiques. Des sols riches et vivants pour des raisins bien alimentés donneront des vins vivants.

LA VIGNE

La vigne, notre cœur de métier, là où la qualité du végétal est fondamentale.

Au Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes, la quête de l’excellence est la raison pour laquelle les plants sont issus d’une sélection massale. Ils ont été produits à partir de souches de vieilles vignes sélectionnées pour leur qualité propre et pour leur grande variabilité génétique. L’hétérogénéité retrouvée dans les parcelles conférera complexité et profondeur aux vins. De même, les plants sont greffés à la main par la méthode de greffe en fente à l’anglaise. Cette technique assure un meilleur flux de sève dans la plante par rapport aux méthodes classiques de greffe en oméga. Et pour garantir ce savoir-faire, les tailleurs sont formés pour préserver les cônes de dessèchement, ne pas faire de plaies de taille et respecter les flux de sève dans la plante.

LE TRAVAIL DE LA VIGNE

Le travail de la vigne, l’instant d’une rencontre, là où l’homme et la nature composent en symbiose.

Pour arriver à un équilibre parfait de la vigne, plusieurs méthodes ont été employées. En 2020, des essais ont été effectués en tressant les rameaux de vigne plutôt que de les écimer (couper les rameaux trop longs). La taille de la vigne a été adaptée à chaque cep. L’idée est de ne pas contraindre la vigne en la blessant mais de la laisser vivre en la laissant pousser. Et pour lutter contre les adventices (mauvaises herbes), des méthodes alternatives aux travail intégral du sol sont pratiquées. Dans les inter-rangs, des mélanges de plusieurs espèces végétales, graminées, légumineuses et crucifères sont semés. Elles ont un système racinaire bien particulier qui explore et décompacte le sol à une certaine profondeur. Les légumineuses ont aussi la capacité à capter l’azote atmosphérique et à le stocker dans le sol, c’est un engrais vert. Avec ces enherbements, l’idée est double. La première est de ne plus travailler les sols pour ne pas mélanger les horizons du sol (les différentes couches du sol) et la deuxième est d’apporter le maximum de vie dans le sol et à la surface. Les vignes sont souvent bordées de haies. Elles sont des couloirs biologiques majeurs et sont constituées d’arbres, de lierres, d’arbustes, d’asperges sauvages et de nombreuses autres espèces végétales. Ces haies sont un refuge précieux pour la macrofaune (oiseaux, chauvesouris), mais aussi pour les insectes.

Toujours dans le même état d’esprit d’une approche agroécologique, d’un système global et autonome, l’enherbement naturel est laissé après les vendanges dans certains secteurs. Cette végétation limite l’érosion et apporte une source riche en aliments pour de nombreuses espèces. Puis, fin février – début mars, un berger vient avec ses moutons dans les vignes. En plus de faire un travail remarquable en seulement quelques heures, leur passage laisse derrière eux un souvenir sur la parcelle, certes un peu odorant, mais au combien fertilisant. Là encore, le cycle naturel apporte de la vie au sol.

« Ce qu’il faut ce sont des sols vivants, une vigne maternée, bien nourrie et jamais traumatisée pour avoir des raisins en parfait état qui donneront des vins vivants et vibrants ! » Edouard Guerin

« Ce qu’il faut ce sont des sols vivants, une vigne maternée, bien nourrie et jamais traumatisée pour avoir des raisins en parfait état qui donneront des vins vivants et vibrants ! »

LE CHAI

UN LIEU HORS DU COMMUN

La cave de vinification du Clos de l’Oratoire des Pape est aménagée dans des roches datant de plus de 15 millions d’années.

LA CAVE DU CLOS DE L’ORATOIRE DES PAPES BLANC

Pour découvrir la cave de vinification dédiée à notre cuvée Clos de l’Oratoire blanc, ouvrez les portes du Prieuré pour descendre les escaliers et traverser la cave de vinification de la cuvée Les Chorégies. Une fois arrivé devant une grille en fer forgé, marchez sur les traces des moines en empruntant un tunnel creusé dans le safre au XVIIIème siècle. A la sortie de ce passage confidentiel, la cave apparaît abritant huit cuves tulipes noires en béton, dédiées à la vinification de l’un des vins blancs les plus reconnus de l’appellation.

Un profil de vin à la personnalité affirmée sur la fraîcheur et de beaux amers révélant de la plus belle des manières les sols calcaires de Châteauneuf-du-Pape.

Pour renforcer l’expression du terroir, les vendanges se font manuellement et de manière précoce dans le but de garder l’acidité et la fraîcheur aromatique.

Une fois arrivés en cave, les raisins sont pressurés très délicatement, en grappe entière. Ce pressurage très délicat « à la champenoise » va durer entre 7h et 8h au lieu de 2h en moyenne. Ce processus permet de presser et de décompacter les raisins, puis de recommencer à presser, dans le but d’avoir les jus les plus purs possible.

Une partie de la vinification est effectuée à 80% dans huit cuves tulipes en béton et 20% dans des barriques en chêne français de 300L. Ces cuves tulipes ont la spécificité d’avoir une forme d’œuf, qui va permettre la création d’un mouvement gravitationnel, appelé le « phénomène de vortex », permettant aux lies fines de rester en suspension naturellement, sans bâtonnage, et donc de développer le potentiel aromatique des vins.

Le Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes blanc est élevé dans une cave troglodyte à 6 mètres de profondeur dans des conditions de température et d’hygrométrie parfaitement stables tout au long de l’année. 80% du vin est élevé en cuve béton et 20% en barriques en chêne français. L’élevage se fait sur lies totales et pour les vins élevés en barrique, le bâtonnage est pratiqué. Au printemps, entre mars et début mai selon les millésimes, l’assemblage final est réalisé.

LA CAVE DU CLOS DE L’ORATOIRE DES PAPES ROUGE

La vinification du Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes rouge se réalise dans une cave au cœur de la bâtisse du Prieuré qui se compose de 11 cuves tronconiques en chêne français de 75 et 100hl.

 

La quintessence des 4 terroirs de l’appellation sur cet assemblage à dominante Grenache.

 

Elaboré à partir de cépages plantés sur des sols de galets roulés, de grès rouge, d’éclats calcaires et de safres, ce vin est vinifié dans le respect de la plus pure tradition.

 

Le travail de cofermentation, effectué lors de la vinification de la cuvée Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes rouge, continue de dévoiler notre savoir-faire en associant les différents terroirs dans une même cuve. L’objectif est d’assembler des cépages provenant de différents types de sols pour révéler essentiellement l’impact de ces terroirs si spécifiques à Châteauneuf-du-pape. Par exemple, la Syrah plantée sur des sols argileux viendra équilibrer la Syrah provenant d’un sol calcaire. L’association galets roulés et safres est phare pour l’élaboration de cette cuvée. Les galets roulés sont la signature de Châteauneuf-du-Pape et sont connus pour apporter au vin alcool, fruits confits, et puissance alors que les Safres souvent connus pour faire des vins délicats vont apporter des tanins soyeux, des fruits noirs et de la finesse.

Grâce à ce processus de cofermentation entre différents cépages et différents sols, la dégustation promet une savante alchimie entre pureté du fruit, tanins soyeux et profondeur. Quant à la texture et la matière ressenties en cœur de bouche proviennent du pigeage effectué sur cette cuvée.

Les douze premiers mois d’élevage sont réalisés en foudre de chêne, suivi d’un pré-assemblage en cuve béton pendant 6 à 9 mois. Les vins passent ainsi deux hivers en élevage pour leur apporter une stabilité naturelle, une belle brillance et une patine délicate. La mise en bouteille a lieu au printemps lorsque les températures sont aux alentours de 15°C.

Le Clos de l’Oratoire rouge se dégustera tout aussi bien dans sa prime jeunesse ou vieilli en cave entre 8 à 10 ans minimum, et jusqu’à 15 ans et plus pour les plus grands millésimes.

LA CAVE DE LA CUVÉE LES CHORÉGIES

Pour notre cuvée parcellaire « Les Chorégies », la cave de vinification semi-troglodyte creusée à même le safre dispose de 8 foudres uniques de 18,7 hl qui en font une des spécificités du Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes.

Les vendanges sont réalisées à la main et les grappes sont méticuleusement triées. Le Grenache conservé en grappe entière est légèrement foulé. La Syrah est partiellement égrappée et extraite délicatement par des pigeages quotidiens.

Les Chorégies sont vinifiées exclusivement en foudre de 18,7hl. Cette plus grande surface d’échange entre la pellicule et le jus permet d’apporter de la structure et une belle complexité.

« Nos foudres de 18,7hl nous permettent de maximiser la surface d’échange entre la pellicule et le jus, apportant structure et complexité à la cuvée. » Edouard Guerin

Grâce à une macération réalisée dans ces foudres, les parties solides (pellicules, pépins, rafles) restent ainsi plongées dans le vin. En effet, par leur forme, ces foudres permettent au chapeau de marc de ne pas être en contact avec l’oxygène et d’être en permanence immergé, synonyme d’une infusion lente et délicate.

S’ensuit la fermentation alcoolique qui durera de 8 à 10 jours avec une température de cuvaison comprise entre 28°C et 30°C. Cette cuvaison longue, pouvant atteindre 7 semaines, permet de concevoir des vins avec des tanins doux et délicats, tout en longueur avec une recherche de tension et d’équilibre.

Le pressurage sera réalisé à l’aide d’un petit pressoir vertical à piston pneumatique qui permet de réaliser des vins de presse d’une grande qualité et d’une grande pureté qui seront, le plus souvent, assemblés au vin de goutte.

L’élevage durera pendant 12 mois en foudre de chêne français, puis 8 mois en cuve béton avant que le vin repose en bouteille pendant au moins 18 mois.

En véritable chef d’orchestre, Edouard Guerin, attentif et méticuleux, agit tout au long de la vinification et de l’élevage pour s’assurer de l’élaboration d’une cuvée tout en finesse et complexité.

« Le Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes est un de ces vins mythiques qui a su rester accessible. C’est une chance d’accompagner nos équipes, tant à la vigne qu’au chai pour aller chaque année un peu plus loin, vers des vins plus profonds, plus vivants, plus vibrants. »

LE DIRECTEUR TECHNIQUE

EDOUARD GUERIN

C’est dans le cocon familial, en Drôme Provençale, qu’Edouard a eu la chance de vivre au rythme des saisons : entre récoltes d’abricot l’été et des amandes à l’automne.

La frustration était déjà grande pour lui quand il fallait retrouver le chemin de l’école alors que les vendanges débutaient… Son père et son grand-père s’étaient déjà chargés de lui transmettre leur passion du vin.

Edouard déteste l’école mais a l’intelligence de savoir ce qu’il veut faire de sa vie. Il prend donc le chemin du Lycée du Parc à Lyon pour une classe préparatoire Agronomie qui lui ouvre les portes de l’ENSAIA à Nancy et lui permet d’obtenir son diplôme d’ingénieur agronome. Brillant et capable de mener plusieurs batailles de front, il obtient la même année une spécialisation en Viticulture et Œnologie à l’École Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Montpellier. Il y obtiendra son Diplôme National d’Œnologue en 2005.

Curieux et ambitieux, Edouard a toujours souhaité voir ce qui se faisait « ailleurs ».

En 2007, c’est en Cappadoce en Turquie qu’il pose ses valises en famille pendant cinq ans en tant que directeur technique de la Maison Turasan, un récoltant et négociant de raisins. Il a pu exprimer son talent en ayant pour laboratoire des cépages autochtones et des terroirs uniques.

Sa soif de découvertes et son expertise technique le conduisent en Australie où il occupera le poste de directeur général et directeur technique pour la Maison Chapoutier Australia jusqu’en 2013.

Les terroirs français lui manquent et l’opportunité d’intégrer la Maison Cazes en Roussillon se présente : c’est aux Clos de Paulilles qu’il fait son retour en France, en tant que responsable technique.

En intégrant le Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes à Châteauneuf-du-Pape en 2015, c’est l’enfant du pays qui est enfin de retour à la Maison. Les projets y sont nombreux, les ambitions de la Maison sont grandes et la typicité des terroirs de la vallée du Rhône Méridionale une « aire de jeux » extraordinaire pour Edouard qui se voit confier la direction des Vins et des Vignobles.

Aujourd’hui, Edouard exprime toute sa passion et son savoir-faire à la terre comme à la cave. Ses talents d’artiste se révèlent à la dégustation dans nos cuvées du Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes.
« Le Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes est un de ces vins mythiques qui a su rester accessible.
C’est une chance d’accompagner nos équipes, tant à la vigne qu’au chai pour aller chaque année un peu plus loin, vers des vins plus profonds, plus vivants, plus vibrants. »

Invite & Earn

X
Signup to start sharing your link
Signup

Available Coupon

X
Ce site est enregistré sur wpml.org en tant que site de développement.